HomeCricketWho are the T20 World Cup champions?

Who are the T20 World Cup champions?

This year’s T20 World Cup is right around the corner, with 16 teams battling it out for the greatest prize in this format of the game.

Originating in 2007, there have been six tournaments since then and the 2021 edition in the UAE will be seventh.

In those six tournaments, there have been five different winners, with the West Indies the only nation to take out the trophy on two separate occasions.

Unsurprisingly given some of their recent performances in T20 cricket, Australia have never won a T20 World Cup and have only made the final once.


The reigning T20 World Cup champions are the West Indies.

Back in 2016, they defeated England in the final in dramatic fashion, with Sydney Sixers star Carlos Braithwaite hitting four sixes in a row off the bowling of Ben Stokes to win.

It was the second time the trophy had gone to the Carribean,…

Read more at www.sportingnews.com


Most Popular