HomeGolfThe Preview: Mallorca Golf Open

The Preview: Mallorca Golf Open

From 1988 to 2011 the tournament attracted some of the biggest names in the game and has an honour roll that includes Seve Ballesteros (three times), Miguel Angel Jimenez (twice), Sergio Garcia and Jose Maria Olazabal.

Darren Clarke also claimed the trophy in 2011 just two months before his historic victory in The Open.

DEFENDING CHAMPION: Denmark’s Jeff Winther claimed a maiden victory in 2021 but in one of the more unusual wins of the year.

The 34-year-old almost missed his Sunday tee time after he and his wife got locked in the bathroom at their hotel the morning of the final round.

A broken door handle meant they were unable to get out of the room though the couple’s

six-year-old daughter managed to alert hotel staff to the situation and help soon arrived.

Despite the drama Winther went on to card a final round of even par to take the…

Read more at www.golfaustralia.com.au


Most Popular