HomeGolfCam’s quiet Player of the Year honour

Cam’s quiet Player of the Year honour

But unlike the Tour’s announcement of Scheffler that came in the past week to much fanfare, and a surprise awarding for the Masters champion on EPSN’s football coverage, the PGA of America’s Player of the Year was awarded to Smith, with little in the way of publicity.

Awarded not by vote, but a points system, the PGA of America, who run the PGA Championship, gives out its annual award at a similar time to the PGA Tour each year, with different results not uncommon. Jon Rahm won the PGA’s award in 2021, while Patrick Cantlay took out the PGA Tour’s gong.

But unlike when the Spanish former World No.1 was crowned, there was no social media posts of Smith’s win from the organisation that awards it, and little evidence of the achievement beyond a story posted to the pga.com website.

It was a close-run race between Smith and Scheffler for the…

Read more at www.golfaustralia.com.au


Most Popular